2016 IUMRS Global Leadership and Service Award Ceremony

galleryFor the second time, the prestigious IUMRS Global Leadership and Service Awards (GLS) were presented to three outstanding members of the global materials community on November 17th, 2016 at the European Parliament in Brussels, Belgium. The GLS Awards was created by IUMRS to recognize leaders in the materials science community who had dedicated their capabilities and talents to serve the greater good that impact the world-at-large.

In line with the IUMRS’s mission of fostering the applications of interdisciplinary materials R&D, the presentation ceremony honored scientists and researchers who are dedicated to the development of the international community and cooperation in the field of advanced materials for energy and transportation.

The awards were given by MEPs (Ministers of European Parliament) during the ceremony.

  • wangMr. Paul Rübig, chair of the STOA (Science and Technology Options Assessment) panel, presented the first award to the representative of award winner Professor Wan Gang, Mr. Zhang Zhiqin, Minister Counsellor to EU from China. Gang, the Minister of Science and Technology of China, was recognized for establishing the New Energy Automobile Engineering Centre and promoting science and technology collaboration between China and its partners.
  • wangMr. José Inácio Faria presented the second award to Professor Graça Carvalho, a former Minister of Science in Portugal who had worked at the European Commission. From 2009 to 2014, Carvalho was an MEP and co-president of the Industry, Research and Energy Committee (ITRE) at the European Parliament. Carvalho was a driving force in the launch of the European Institute of Technology, rapporteur of the Horizon 2020 program and Policy Officer at the Scientific Advice Mechanism Unit, DG RTD at European Commission. She had made huge contributions in promoting research throughout her academic and political career.
  • wangMr. Carlos Zorrinho presented the third award to Professor Sukekatsu Ushioda, a former president of the National Institute of Materials Science (NIMS), Japan, and head of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP). Ushioda taught at the University of California (Irvine) from 1969 and 1985, before teaching at the Tohoku University in Japan from 1985 to 2004.

Although Mr. Carlos Moedas, European Commissioner for Research, Science and Innovation, was not able to attend the ceremony, a pre-recorded video was shown. videoView video HERE.

Mr. Rodrigo Martins, chair of the IUMRS Awards Committee, closed the ceremony with an uplifting remark: “It is a great honor to have all these distinguished guests here”, and commented that it was especially significant that the awards were supported by the main political groups from the European Parliament.


10:30 Registration
11:00 Welcome address by MEPs Carlos Zorrinho and Carlos Coelho
11:10 The IUMRS Global Leadership and Service Award initiative, by R.P. H. Chang, Secretary General of IUMRS
11:20 Welcome address by Dr. Paul Rübig, Chair of STOA Panel
11:30 The Chair of the STOA Panel Paul Rübig present the award to Prof. Wan Gang
11:40 MEP José Inácio Faria and Commissioner Carlos Moedas (video stream) present the first award to Prof. Graça Carvalho, followed by the acceptance speech
11:50 MEP Carlos Coelho present the award to Prof. Sukekatsu Ushioda, followed by the acceptance speech
12:00 Closing remarks by Rodrigo Martins, Chair of the IUMRS Awards Committee

Lunch, with:

  • Welcome address and speech to the Lauda by Dr. Hanns-Ulrich Habermeier, President of IUMRS     
  • The Materials Impact in the Society, speech by the Director for Industrial Technologies at DG Research and Innovation, Peter Dröll

Closing remarks by MEPs Carlos Zorrinho and José Inácio Faria

Group Pictures

globalAward 4GLS500 2GLS500 2GLS500 3

Group pictures credit: © Alexis Haulot

Member Login

"Forgot login?" (below) can reset password.

Event Calendar

February 2017
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 1 2 3 4