About Sômiya Awards

IUMRS Sômiya Award

The following criteria are used by the IUMRS Commission on Awards for selection:

  • The team to be honored must have collaborated across at least two continents some time during the last decade.
  • The collaborative work must be of the highest quality and well recognized by the international materials community.
  • The impact on technology or society is also a major factor.


About Professor Sômiya

The Sômiya award is named in honor of Dr.Shigeyuki Sômiya, Emeritus Professor of the Tokyo Institute of Technology, and later Dean atTeikyo University of Science and Engineering.

Dr. Sômiya is a winner of the MRS Medal andthe Japanese Scientific Academic Award.

Professor Sômiya spent his post-graduate years in the U.S. and embarked on a series of collaborative research and exchange visits in many countries, starting in 1969 with the U.S.-Japan Workshop in Ceramics -- the very first in materials science. He also actively pursued joint work with colleagues in Europe, and brought many international materials gatherings to Japan.


History of Sômiya Award for International Collaboration

  • 1st 2000 Dr. X.R. Wu (the Beijing Institute of Aeronautical Materials, China, Leader), Dr. J.C. Newman, Jr. (NASA Langley Research Center, Mechanics and Durability Branch, USA)/ Award winning work : "Small-Crack Effects and Life Predictions for High-Strength Aluminium Alloys" (Award Location: Strasbourg, France)
  • 2nd 2001 Dr. Antoni Tomsia, (Berkeley, USA, Leader), Jose Moya, Madrid (Spain)/ Award winning work : "Graded Bioactive Coatings for Medical Implants" (Award Location: Cancun, Mexico)
  • 3rd 2002 Prof. M.Yoshimura (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan, Leader), Professor Y. Gogotsi (Drexel University, USA)./ Award winning work : “Hydrothermal Synthesis of Carbon Coatings and Nanotube" (Award Location: Xi'an, China)
  • 4th 2003 Dr. Klaas de Groot (IsoTis NV, Dutch, Leader), Professor FuZhai Cui (Tsinghua University, China)./ Award winning work: "Biomimetic Calcium Phosphate Composites" (Award Location: Yokohama, Japan)
  • 5th 2004 Dr. C. N. R. Rao, (JNCASR, Bangalore, India, Leader), Dr. Anthony Cheetham (University of California at Santa Barbara, California, USA)./ Award winning work : "Carbon-Assisted Synthesis of Inorganic Nanowires" (Award Location: San Francisco, USA)
  • 6th 2005 Prof. Terence Langdon (University of Southern California, USA, Leader), Prof. Zenji Horita (Kyushu University, Japan)./ Award winning work: "Severe Plastic Deformation for Microstructure Refinement and Property Improvement in Metallic Materials" (Award Location: Yokohama, Japan)
  • 7th 2007 Prof. Ivan K. Schuller (University of California, San Diego, USA, Leader), Prof. Yvan Bruynseraede (Catholic University of Leuven, Belgium)./ Award winning work : "Structure and Physical Properties of Superconducting and Magnetic Nanostructures" (Award Location: Bangalore, India)
  • 8th 2009 Professor Mildred S. Dresselhaus (MIT, USA, Leader), Professor Ado Jorio (Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Brazil), Dr. Mauricio Terrones (Instituto Potosino de Investigacion Cientifica y Technologica, Mexico), Professor Riichiro Saito (Tohoku University Japan), Professor Morinobu Endo (Shinshu University, Japan), Professor Marcos Pimenta (Universidade Federal de Minas Gerais, Brazil) and Professor Antonio G. Souza Filho (Universidade Federal do Ceara, Brazil)./ Award winning work: "Carbon nanostructure materials" (Award Location: Rio de Janeiro, Brazil)
  • 9th 2012 Professor J.Kilner (Imperial College London, UK, Leader), Professor H.L.Tuller (MIT, USA), Professor T.Ishihara (Kyushu University, Japan), Professor Jose Santiso (CIN2, Spain), Professor Bilge Yildiz (MIT, USA): Award winning work: "Design of ionic and mixed conducting ceramics for fuel cell application" (Award Location: Yokohama, Japan)

Member Login

"Forgot login?" (below) can reset password.

Event Calendar

February 2017
29 30 31 1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 1 2 3 4